nancy pearlThe New York Times calls her “the talk of librarian circles.” Readers can’t get enough of her recommendations while bookstores and libraries offer standing room only whenever she visits. Since the release of the best-selling Book Lust in 2003 and the Librarian Action Figure modeled in her likeness, Nancy Pearl has become a rock star among readers and the tastemaker people turn to when deciding what to read next.

Having worked as a librarian and bookseller in Detroit, Tulsa, and Seattle, Pearl’s knowledge of and love for books is unmatched. In 1998, she developed the program “If All of Seattle Read the Same Book,” which spread across the country. The former Executive Director of the Washington Center for the Book, Pearl celebrates the written word by speaking at bookstores and libraries across the country and on her monthly television program Book Lust with Nancy Pearl on the Seattle Channel. She is a regular commentator about books on National Public Radio’s “Morning Edition” and NPR affiliate stations KUOW in Seattle and KWGS in Tulsa.

In 2004, Pearl became the 50th winner of the Women’s National Book Association Award for her extraordinary contribution to the world of books. In the moments when Pearl finds herself without a book, she is an avid bicyclist and happy grandmother of three. She lives in Seattle with her husband, Joe.


Book Lust To Go (Sasquatch Books, 2010)


Library Journal, Fiction Reviewer of the Year (1998)

Book Crush (Sasquatch Books, 2007)


Allie Beth Martin Award, ALA (2000)

Book Crush Journal (Sasquatch Books, 2007)


Washington Humanities Award (2003)

More Book Lust (Sasquatch Books, 2005)


Ontario Library Association Media & Communications Award (2004)

Book Lust Journal (Sasquatch Books, 2005)


Louis Shores Greenwood Publishing Award for Reviews, ALA (2004&#41

Book Lust 2006: A Reader’s Calendar (Sasquatch Books, 2005)


Women’s National Book Association Award (2004/5)

Book Lust (Sasquatch Books, 2003)


Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award (2010)

Now Read This: A Guide to Mainstream Fiction, 1978-1998 (Libraries Unlimited, 1999)


Library Journal Librarian of the
Year (2011)

Now Read This II: A Guide to Mainstream Fiction, 1990-2001 (Libraries Unlimited, 2002)


PNBA Lifetime Achievement Award (2011)

Now Read This III: A Guide to Mainstream Fiction, 2002-2009 (Libraries Unlimited, 201)


* Photo: Bob Peterson